OpticsTalk by SWFA, Inc. Homepage SWFA     SampleList.com
Forum Home Forum Home > Scopes > Rifle Scopes
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Visit the SWFA.com site to check out our current specials.

Springfield M21 - best scope?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Optics GrassHopper
Optics GrassHopper

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M21 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Springfield M21 - best scope?
    Posted: March/23/2008 at 21:12

I have been researching on this site for a few months now and I need a little help from you experienced guys.  I am fairly new to long distance shooting, but so far I very much enjoy shooting my Springfield M21 Tactical rifle.  I have the Springfield government 6x40 scope on it with the Springfield scope mount.  I got those items reasonable priced with coupons when I bought the rifle.  The scope is not too bad with the range finder built in, but I don’t like the adjustment knobs, or lack of.  I am looking for a scope that is more fitting to the M21 and better for target shooting at long distances.  I plan on shooting distant targets 300-600 yards a way and further some day.  Here are my thoughts on suitable scopes, but I am open to other ideas as well.

Zeiss 4.5-14x50 mil-dot, target knobs for about $900

IOR 4-14x50 illuminated MP-8 for about $1,100

NXS 3.5-15x50 mil-dot for about $1,400

Zeiss 6.5-20x50 mil-dot, target knobs for about $1,000

IOR 6-24x50 illuminated MP-8 for about $1,300

NXS 5.5-22x50 mil-dot for about $1,500

I am leaning towards the IOR 6-24x50 since I think it’s well rounded and a good value.  Also, is my Springfield scope mount sufficient or is it recommended to go with another type?

OBTW, this site has been great and the information helped me decided on a Pentax PF-65 ED II 20-60x spotting scope and a Nikon Monarch 1200 laser range finder.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Brad

supertool73 View Drop Down
Optics God
Optics God