OpticsTalk by SWFA, Inc. Homepage SWFA     SampleList.com
Forum Home Forum Home > Other Optics > Binoculars
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Visit the SWFA.com site to check out our current specials.

Porro vs. roof prisms?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Optics GrassHopper
Optics GrassHopper

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote grouper sandwich Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Porro vs. roof prisms?
    Posted: March/27/2008 at 15:46
I'm a binocs newbie and have no idea what the difference between the two is.  Can anyone explain it to me in actual terms as well as any differences in performance. 
RifleDude View Drop Down
EVIL OPPRESSOR

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RifleDude Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/27/2008 at 17:24
Porro prisms have the familiar dogleg shape to the housings, where the objective lenses will be offset from the eyepiece lenses.  Roof prism binoculars have in-line housings, so they are generally more compact than porro prisms with the same objective lens diameter and magnification.  This compactness comes at a significant cost.  Comparing binoculars of equivalent optical quality, the roof prism will almost always be more expensive than the porro prism.  This is due to the more complex prism arrangement and reflective prism coatings (metallic coatings like aluminum or silver, or multilayer dielectric coatings) and phase correction required.  In a roof prism binocular the 2 prisms in each barrel are stacked on top of one another instead of offset so the light is reflected in more abrupt angles through the prisms.  A good roof prism binocular is just more costly to produce.

The very best roof prisms can equal, but usually not exceed the optical quality of the very best porro prisms, but again, at a substantially higher price tag.
Ted