![]() |
|
Beware of Fakes |
Post Reply
|
Page 12> |
| Author | ||
Chris Farris
TEAM SWFA - Admin
swfa.com Joined: October/01/2003 Location: Texas Online Status: Offline Posts: 5701 |
Quote Reply
Topic: Beware of FakesPosted: December/06/2005 at 16:15 |
|
|
All of these were bought on eBay from different user id's that pop up sale off a bunch of fakes then dissappear only to register later under a new user id.
These Leupold examples are pretty poor fakes, I've seen some much better. The Trijicon and Aimpoint you'd have to have in your hands to realize. There are also some very good Swarovski fakes out there that we have yet to get our hands on.
Caveat Emptor
|
||
![]() |
||
Sniper6
Optics Apprentice
Joined: November/06/2005 Location: United States Online Status: Offline Posts: 78 |
Quote Reply
Posted: December/06/2005 at 19:54 |
|
|
Chris You should have some people put theese fakes to the test and see what they can take then post the results for us. Optic Quality - Zero retention - Durability - Water proof - Test them on various calibers.
|
||
|
What a great hobby!
|
||
![]() |
||
silver
Optics Master
Joined: November/04/2005 Location: United States Online Status: Offline Posts: 2058 |
Quote Reply
Posted: December/07/2005 at 04:03 |
|
|
So who is making them? Like I have to guess county of origin... |
||
|
"If we weren't all crazy we, We would go insane." Jimmie Buffet
WWW.formitch.com |
||
![]() |
||
Chris Farris
TEAM SWFA - Admin
swfa.com Joined: October/01/2003 Location: Texas Online Status: Offline Posts: 5701 |
Quote Reply
Posted: December/07/2005 at 09:56 |
|
|
We'll mount 'em up and run 'em on a few of our "test" guns once the weather gets a little nicer.
.50 BMG Barrett .50 Beowulf Alexander Arms .338 Lapua Sako .17 Mach II Magnum Research
Its going to be a Rhetorical test though!
Not sure who is making them other than orientals. |
||
![]() |
||
koshkin
Optics Jedi Knight
Dark Lord of Optics Joined: June/15/2004 Location: United States Online Status: Offline Posts: 5249 |
Quote Reply
Posted: April/21/2006 at 15:15 |
|
|
Chris, did you get a chance to mount these fakes and see how they do?
ILya |
||
![]() |
||
Chris Farris
TEAM SWFA - Admin
swfa.com Joined: October/01/2003 Location: Texas Online Status: Offline Posts: 5701 |
Quote Reply
Posted: April/21/2006 at 15:17 |
|
|
Weather just started getting nice but it got too nice. We hit 101 this week.
We just got in a bunch of new steel targets. I'll mount 'em up soon and get some pictures and test results. |
||
![]() |
||
Chris Farris
TEAM SWFA - Admin
swfa.com Joined: October/01/2003 Location: Texas Online Status: Offline Posts: 5701 |
Quote Reply
Posted: July/31/2006 at 16:40 |
|
![]() |
||
Chris Farris
TEAM SWFA - Admin
swfa.com Joined: October/01/2003 Location: Texas Online Status: Offline Posts: 5701 |
Quote Reply
Posted: August/16/2007 at 12:52 |
|
|
We have been testing the fakes that we have and so far none of them have broken. There is a very noticable difference in them optically as well as fit and finish. They compare with other scopes in the $100. range.
|
||
![]() |
||
Chris Farris
TEAM SWFA - Admin
swfa.com Joined: October/01/2003 Location: Texas Online Status: Offline Posts: 5701 |
Quote Reply
Posted: August/16/2007 at 12:57 |
|
![]() |
||
spystyle
Optics Apprentice
Joined: December/26/2006 Location: Lewiston, Maine Online Status: Offline Posts: 86 |
Quote Reply
Posted: November/03/2007 at 08:44 |
|
I bought one, it was marked "Walther". I mounted it on my heavy Ar15 and the recoil made the reticle turn. ![]() This is bi-directional recoil as it is a self loading rifle - I bet it would have been OK on a 22lr or a bolt gun up to 223. That one may have simply been defective though - who knows? The seller refunded my money. The total cost was only $60 (shipped). Here is the distributor I bought from: http://tinyurl.com/37shxz That seller will not say who manufactures his scopes. Notice they sell all airsoft products, for example a fake H&K MP5. In my opinion the target audience for these scopes is the airsoft kids, they can get a fake sniper rifle and a fake sniper scope to go on it. (pictured below is an airsoft sniper rifle, not mine) ![]() I don't think there is a malicious intent to fool real gunners. I've heard a couple guys were sleazy and tried to sell them as the real deal - this can be avoided : get the serial number of the scope being sold and call Leupold to check. Or better yet buy from SWFA :) As I said the scope I got was clearly marked Walther and was not a "counterfeit" Leupold (it was a "copy" of a Leupold). Though some are marked Leupold but with an obvious serial number (like 8888SC) again I think this is simply to cater to the realism for airsoft kids. ![]() Think about it, if you saw a Leupold scope at the gunshow with a funky serial number like 8888SC, and the paint on the turrets was worn, would you spend $500 on it? Of course not.
I have confirmed that there is at least two factories making them in China, this company: http://www.chinabestsuppliers.com/products_e.htm Who had this to say about my "Walther" scope: (quote, sales@chinabestsuppliers.com) Good evening!
Many thanks for your inquiry and interests
in our products,
After a discussion with our
managers,
We guess that the "Walther"
scope may be made by the manufacturers in Nantong city,
The scope manufacturers in Nantong only make
civilian grade scopes,
All our riflescopes are military
grade,
1.The price of GF001 3-10x40 is 40USD/pc(including mounts) The total weight of 1sample(after packing)
is around 1.1Kgs
So the shipping cost to USA is
56USD,
2.We offer 2 year warranty on our scopes, 3.Our scopes go through 5 steps of shock-proof testing before shipment, It's no problem to use with 223 caliber
semi-auto rifle,
4.We usually only mark item code,magnification and dial adjustment figures on the scope, We also can mark company logo on the scope
body at request of customers,
All the marking is done with laser
engraving,it's everlasting,
(end quote) Cheers, Craig Edited by spystyle |
||
![]() |
||
mercenary1947
Optics Master
** Joined: April/02/2006 Location: United States Online Status: Offline Posts: 1392 |
Quote Reply
Posted: April/25/2008 at 02:23 |
|
|
I don't want to know if they're any good or not .... I don't want one ! Are they selling fake rings and mounts too ? I see you have a canatlever mount posted .
|
||
|
One Shot One Kill .... *S.O.F * Head Shots Only
SWFAM |
||
![]() |
||
Chris Farris
TEAM SWFA - Admin
swfa.com Joined: October/01/2003 Location: Texas Online Status: Offline Posts: 5701 |
Quote Reply
Posted: April/25/2008 at 09:52 |
|
|
Yes they are selling more fake mounts than optics.
|
||
![]() |
||
Post Reply
|
Page 12> |
| Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |