OpticsTalk by SWFA, Inc. Homepage SWFA     SampleList.com
Forum Home Forum Home > Scopes > Tactical Scopes
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Estimating Distance W/MIL DOT Fixed vs Variable
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Visit the SWFA.com site to check out our current specials.

Estimating Distance W/MIL DOT Fixed vs Variable

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Optics GrassHopper
Optics GrassHopper

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ranger007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Estimating Distance W/MIL DOT Fixed vs Variable
    Posted: February/03/2011 at 12:32
I am a novice shooter and tried to find the answer and so far no one can give a logical answer that makes any sense. So this you could say is a last resort and depending how this goes could be a first resort from here on out.

First let me explain some issues that have lead me to ask this question.

I am running a REM 700 SPS short action chamber in .308 WIN. with a SS 16x42 Fixed MIL DOT. Yes I know that the optic is a little much for the rifle but so far it does exactly what I want it to do.

My question is and please forgive me if a fudge the correct terms etc. If I am using the optic referenced above to estimate distance to the target how does a variable power scope affect range estimation? Meaning if I estimate my range to the target to be 150 yards in a X3 magnification and I then zoom in to the target on say 10 power the MIL DOT recticle does not change? Is that correct? If it is correct and the rectilce does not change how does one know what power to be at in order to estimate range estimation?

I am asking this question becuse the people at MIL DOT Master can not answer this. 

Any info/assistance would be greatly appreciated. 

Ranger007
SVT_Tactical View Drop Down
Chief Sackscratch