OpticsTalk by SWFA, Inc. Homepage SWFA     SampleList.com
Forum Home Forum Home > Other Optics > Spotting Scopes
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Visit the SWFA.com site to check out our current specials.

Barska Naturescape ED

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Optics GrassHopper
Optics GrassHopper

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CoHunter24 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Barska Naturescape ED
    Posted: December/30/2013 at 20:25
Hi,
I have been a long time lurker. Every time I buy new optics I am here researching. So I want to give back to the community.

I don't have any other spotting scopes but I do have some decent optics. I have a Leopold Mark AR, a Vortex Viper HS LR 4-16X44, and the best optics I own are the Bushnell Elite ED 10x42. I'll do reviews on those later.

I'm not an expert by any means but I do know aberrations and and a good/bad picture when I see one. I never would have considered buying anything with the barska name but I came across some really good reviews on an exclusive barska ED model. So I rolled the dice, for under $200 what's the worst that could happen? It sucks?

Barska Naturescape ED 15-45x60

The first thing is if you wear glasses this spotting scope so not for you. The eye relief is just bad, its tight on 15x at 30-45 you need to get your eye right on the eye piece.

At 15x the image is very very good. Aberrations are very well controlled and the image is bright and sharp. As you increase power the image gets darker progressively but it still is very usable at 45x in good light and decent as light fades.