OpticsTalk by SWFA, Inc. Homepage SWFA     SampleList.com
Forum Home Forum Home > Scopes > Shotgun / BlackPowder Scopes
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Visit the SWFA.com site to check out our current specials.

Sighting in Nikon Omega Scope

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Optics GrassHopper
Optics GrassHopper

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jsagraves Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sighting in Nikon Omega Scope
    Posted: November/03/2006 at 06:22

I am a novice shooter at best and am getting ready to sight in my TC Omega and scope tomorrow, but have a few questions about the procedure.

First the directions read the following:

Place the large target at 20 or 25 yards.

Then fire a shot at this dot from a stable

shooting rest. Unless your scope mounting

system is very incompatible with your rifle you

will hit the target somewhere.

Now for the neat trick! Replace the rifle in the

shooting rest and place the crosshair

intersection on the aiming dot. Without

moving the rifle, move the crosshairs to the

bullet hole.

and...

Now move your large target paper to one

hundred yards. Enlarge the aiming dot to two

inches with your felt pen. Now

fire a shot and again the bullet should hit

somewhere on the large target paper. You can

repeat the previous technique of moving the

crosshairs to the bullet

and...

Now for the shooting procedure that will fine

tune the BDC-250 reticle to your load.

zero the scope at one hundred yards so that

your point of impact is identical to the point

of aim.

setup large cardboard targets at two

hundred and fifty yards. The target should

be at least three feet tall. Place an aiming

mark at the top of the large piece of

cardboard.

shoot three to five shots using your one

hundred yard zero. Do not be concerned

about bullet drop. The challenge is to have

a large enough cardboard to catch each shot

and to form a nice group.